Monday, May 01, 2006



Rule 47a: "A minor or major penalty shall be imposed on a player who skates or jumps into, or charges an opponent in any manner."

I guess the officials felt that Cleary was penalized enough on this play. It's tough to argue with them.


That's the hit I was talking about re: Pronger. I guess I just super-imposed Chelios' face on Cleary since I can't stand Chelios and wish him a miserable retirement.

I'm going to keep playing that hit all day now.

Since we seem to love quoting from the rule book these days...

Rule 67a:

A minor penalty shall be imposed on a player who interferes with or impedes the progress of an opponent who is not in possession of the puck.

I think it was great hit, but by the letter of the law it was interference. Cleary never touched the puck, therfore you can't hit him.

Discretionary call Cam,

Pronger doesn't hit Cleary, Pronger gets nailed.

Every rule is open to interpretation.

You'd be hard pressed to find a ref who would call intereference for a hit on a guy with the puck in his feet.

jon... I would normally agree with you, but I've seen hits like that called several times in the playoffs this year. Just nitpicking really... I know it would have been a marginal call at best, and as the orginal post states Cleary should have been charged with charging given he jumped.

Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?